European Commission appoints members of the Expert Panel on Health for its new term

The European Commission appointed on the 25th of November the new fifteen members of its Expert Panel on Effective Ways of Investing in Health, which is renewed for three years. The members were selected following the related call for expression of interest to participate in the panel, addressed towards health or therapeutic specific experts. Members of the Panel will serve for a three year term until May 2019, to advise the European Commission, via the development of Opinions, on a wide range of health topics, with the overall aim to guide the definition and implementation of EU health policies and activities, to drive improved and more sustainable health systems. The Opinions of the former Panel, which run until May 2016, are available here and issues covered include disruptive innovation in health, access to health services in the EU, or cross-border cooperation.
Six former members were renewed for the new term, including Prof. Martin McKee from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Prof. Walter Ricciardi from the Italian Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Prof. Lasse Lehtonen from the HUS (Hospital District of Helsinki and Uusimaa) and University of Helsinki, Prof Margaret Barry from the National University of Ireland Galway (NUI Galway), Prof. Werner Brouwer from the Dutch Erasmus University Rotterdam and former Chair Prof. Jan De Maeseneer from the Belgian Ghent University. The full list of members is available here.